ID WORLD International Congress: ID People Awards 2006

This site will work and look better in a browser that supports web standards.

middleAbout ID WORLD 2011
middleID People Awards 2011
middleMedia Partners
middlePress Area
middleOther Events:
middleID WORLD Abu Dhabi
middleID WORLD Rio de Janeiro
middleVertical Forums
middleID WORLD 2010
middleID WORLD 2009
middleID WORLD 2008
middleID WORLD 2007
middleID WORLD 2006
middlePast Events

The winners of this year’s ID People Awards – the Oscars of the auto ID industry – were revealed on the evening of November 28th, during the fifth ID WORLD International Congress in Milan. At the annual ceremony, awards were presented in recognition of the contribution made by thought leaders, innovators and pioneering adopters who distinguished themselves by their achievements during the past 12 months.

The Big Five

Five awards were handed out following the nomination and voting by the ID Community, who have supported the initiative with enthusiasm during the last months. More than 2,500 votes were collected in the three week election phase. The categories and winners are:

ID Community Award

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Posch, Chief Information Officer of the Austrian Federal Government, for driving the issues surrounding eID security to the forefront of the EU community and encouraging other Member States to begin discussions on eID interoperability.


ID Leadership Award

Roberto Tavano, Vice President of the European Security Programme at Unisys, for playing a key role in strategic ventures aimed at expanding the knowledge and awareness of security related issues and opportunities, both at industry and at public sector levels in Europe.


ID Limelight Award

Vic Verma, for focusing the attention of the media on his achievements both as a leader in technology development – he has been granted eight patents – and as the President and CEO of Savi Technology, one of the most successful RFID companies worldwide.


ID Outstanding Achievement Award

Ali Al-Khouri, Deputy Director General of the Emirates Identity Authority, for playing a pivotal role in the establishment of a G2C eGovernment national ID program in the UAE that has helped improve public services in the country.


ID Trail Blazer Award

Bernard Didier, Senior Vice President of Business Development in the Security Division of Sagem Défense Sécurité, for his groundbreaking work as the leader of a pioneering company developing automated fingerprint authentication processes that established its world-class reputation throughout the years and gaining prestigious references from the FBI and Interpol.

Two new awards

Two additional awards were created in 2006 to accompany the traditional Big Five elected by the community:

ID Hall of Fame

Dr. Walter Mosher Jr, Chairman & CIO of Precision Dynamics Corporation, was inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of his pioneering work introducing auto ID into healthcare through his patient identification wristband solutions. The ID Hall of Fame recognizes the lifetime achievements of outstanding individuals in the ID Community.

ID Talent Award

Created in memory of teenage pioneer Derek Jacobs, who tragically died in a motorcycle accident this year aged 18. The inaugural award, sponsored by VeriChip, was presented to his parents Leslie and Jeffrey. Derek became the youngest known Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer at the age of 12 and the first civilian to have an RFID microchip implanted into his body two years later.

Three Honorable Mentions

The organizers of the ID WORLD International Congress also presented an Honorable Mention to three distinguished leaders in the ID Community:

Honorable Mention Global Security Forum

Sertac Özinal, the CEO of BKM Interbank Card Center of Turkey, for his highly successful work introducing chip & pin technology to the entire Turkish credit card population.



Honorable Mention Smart Supply Chain Forum

Fred Schramm, Administrator of the Independent Research and Development Program at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, for his 25 year career at NASA, which saw him inducted into the Space Technology Hall of Fame in 2001 for his accomplishments in identification technologies and recognized as Marshall Space Flight Centers 2005 Inventor of the Year for the Data Matrix Family of Solutions.

Honorable Mention Electronic Passport Forum

Raymond Wong, Assistant Director, Immigration Dept. of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, for his work as commander of an ambitious US$296 million Information Systems Strategy (ISS) project. The multiapplication smart card project for population, combined with biometric technologies (face & fingerprint) serves seven million Hong Kong residents.

About ID People Awards

The ID People Awards are assigned each year to outstanding members of the ID Revolution community who have distinguished themselves in terms of commitment, leadership, creativity and innovation. The ID People Awards, sponsored by the publication ID People, are awarded in the following categories: ID Community Award, ID Leadership Award, ID Limelight Award, ID Trail Blazer Award and ID Outstanding Achievement Award. To see all the nominee, click here


Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsor

Standard Sponsor

Morpho Hirsch SCM Jarltech Datalogic